Scary Anime?

They perfected the music. It has yet to scare me though.

Looking at my list of anime, there are multiple different genres ranging from romance, comedy, action, etc. All of them are done in a different setting with a different type of plot (if there is a plot). To be perfectly honest, I’m fine with my list of anime, but I’m also a bit disappointed. Where are all the scary anime? Actually, are there even scary anime? Even if there is and since anime usually unrealistic, can we truly be scared by a “frightening” anime?

In movies and tv shows, the first thing that people recognize is the creepy music. Anime creators have probably perfected that in their own sort of way, like in animes such as 11eyes and Higurashi no Naku Koro ni. The music played could probably bring some chills down someone’s spine, but it’s not enough to scare them. The next thing that movies and tv shows have are random times something pops out at the main character out of nowhere. Anime always had, either a person or an object, pop out of nowhere at the main character, whether it was for a comedy or just for eye-candy. Finally, the environment must be perfect to scare someone (must be pitch black as well). Well, in an anime, you can obviously expect something to happen and not be scared about it because it isn’t real. The following are animes that sent chills down my spine before:

Boogiepop Phantom – I watched this with Aniki when I was still in elementary school. It was always on the television late at night. The anime was almost always pitch black with random people popping out of nowhere. Looking back at it now, I don’t think I can get chills anymore. It was probably due to my “easily get scared” symptom as a child.

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (First season) – This definitely sent crazy amounts of chills down my spine. I always watched it at night when my room was very dark too. However, I wasn’t exactly scared. I was more grossed out by the graphics of how they died. This is specifically toward the first season. Season 2 and 3 weren’t as crazy as the first.

11eyes – Only the first episode brought chills down my spine. The music caught me off-guard when their world suddenly changed. As the anime continues, it isn’t all that creepy anymore.

Recently, I’ve been looking at the recent videos of the anime version of Dante’s Inferno. I’m sort of looking forward to it, mostly because I loved reading the actual book. I don’t actually think it’ll “scare” me, though. It’ll probably just be another gore-infested anime like Higurashi.

Anyway… honestly… is there a “scary” anime?

4 Responses to “Scary Anime?”

  1. psgels

    Hmm, have you tried Shigurui? That’s the closest anime I can think of to “scary”.

  2. lostty

    I would say Ghost Hunt is actually a scary anime, especially when you watch it in the complete darkness in the late night to get the full effect. It is a very under appreciated show

  3. Kairu

    This **** is not near scary. I prefer Higurashi.

  4. kame-chan

    @psgels: I’ve read part of the manga. It seemed more like a gore-fest to me at first. I didn’t try looking for the anime.

    @lostty: Ghost Hunt has been on my “Planning to Watch” list for awhile. Sadly, I haven’t found the time to stick it into my schedule.\

    @Kairu: Please refrain from cursing. Also, Higurashi is on the list.

Leave a Reply

