Spring Season 2011 – Mid-Season Thoughts

After finishing finals just last week and catching up on anime the past 3 days, I can finally post my current thoughts on the anime I picked up this Spring Season 2011. (Warning: Will contain spoilers)

Sket Dance – An anime with the usual trio: The Leader, The Athletic, and The Nerd; and one of them is female. You’d think that this set-up would be so cliche that no one would work with it outside the bounds of “children’s show”, but Tastunoko Animation came and delivered with a great comedy that merges with this set-up. Add in each character’s unique item(s) and their crazy personalities and you’ll be laughing from the beginning to the end of the episode. Sket Dance is, for me, the comedy of the season. Though, I did cry at the end of episode 6… for a good cause of course. [Note: I need to make my computer talk for me with emotion like Switch]

Hanasaku Iroha – As slice of life anime and a harsh one to boot, Hanasaku Iroha takes the troubles of working and shoves them in your face (or the main character’s face). The first episode wasn’t exactly amazing to me, but as it started to pick up, I began to like how Ohana was developing relationship-wise in all aspects (while she’s still rambunctiously honest). It’s also nice to see that how she changes because of the troubles of working.

Dog Days – My first thought: Take Final Fantasy, Ragnarok, Ninja Warriors, and Wipeout, merge them together with great seiyuus, and you get  Dog Days. Okay okay, my friends say that the premise is stupid and I’ll agree with them to an extent. I mean, the wars are stimulated by economy! Despite that, I love the how the battles are animated and the random comedy. I’m totally head-over-heels for someone who does parkour as a hobby, especially when he’s voiced by Miyano Mamoru. Though, I hope it doesn’t fail when it tries to get serious.

Nichijou – The first few episodes made me think, “Aww, so cute.”… I couldn’t really get into the comedy instantly. There were some parts that had me laughing quite a bit like their camping trip. Other parts, I would just sit and be like, “When will this part end?”… I do love the jump rope bits though and a cat voiced by Minoru Shiraishi just makes my day. Yet, since it’s split into 4 different parts, the 20+ minutes I spend watching the episode feels like an hour to me and makes me less motivated to watch. However, that doesn’t mean I don’t like it and will drop it. I just can’t get into it as quickly as I hoped.

A-Channel – In opposition, A-Channel caught my interest in the first episode. It wasn’t because the comedy was different, because I laughed just as much as I did for Nichijou. It was because I could easily fit in Tooru’s shoes. Though, I do like how there’s “some” back story, even if it comes subtly in each episode. And having Daisuke Ono voice the health teacher just makes my day as well. I mean, it’s like having Hosaka from Minami-ke once again, but instead of taking off his shirt and hugging fish, he loves foreheads.

Ore-tachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai – The first episode just caught me off guard overall. I couldn’t get a grasp for it even after reading the summaries and asking my manga crazy friend. However, when the later episodes came out, it pulled me in a bit more and became more interesting. Especially episode 4 when you find out that it’s schizophrenia with 3 personalities instead of 2. Though, it’s an interesting idea that all 3 personalities made an agreement on the time frames they can be “in charge” of (while intervention is possible if needed). However, I still wonder how they can change how they look height-wise… After all, Takashi doesn’t look like he’s the same height as Shuusuke and Hayato.

Steins;Gate – Catching my eye once again with the scientifically impossible, but logically probable… The creators of Chaos;Head gives me Steins;Gate. With all of the scientific talking, lack of action, and randomly perverted comments (which would be the least of an otaku’s problems), I can understand that Steins;Gate isn’t all that appealing to everyone. However, I’m just as entertained with it as I was while watching Chaos;Head. It’s mainly because of the suspense of each episode, the technological references, and my favorite seiyuus once again. Though it wrecks with my mind just as much…

Astarotte no Omocha! – At first, I thought I wasn’t going to like it all that much being that Princess Lotte, being a succubus and all, needed “life seed” to live when she matures… However, after watching the first two episodes, it’s just another romantic comedy while the Princess learns to rid her fear of men and become more open to friendships. I really liked the new twist that Asuha is the half-sister of the Princess, but I wished it happened in the later episodes and built up to it because it seemed rushed. However, it doesn’t seem like this anime is meant to be suspenseful so I’m fine with it.

C: The Money of Soul and Probability Control – With its “big” title comes with “big” responsibilities, C takes economy and the fantasy world in a different direction than Dog Days (although it doesn’t directly talk about it). To me, it’s off to a slow start because it’s basically everywhere, starting from a Deal to real life to someone else’s Deal to a new relationship with a character, making it hard for me to get interested in it instantly. However, the concept of Midas Dollars and Kimimaro’s father being a part of it does bring me back to watch the newest episode. Though, I hope Kimimaro doesn’t develop to be similar to Mikuni as he get used to the Financial District.

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Boku-tachi wa Mada Shiranai – Taking care of the “drama” part of my Spring Season 2011 is AnoHana. From the first episode alone gave so much suspense between characters that I just couldn’t put it down. Menma’s statement, “I know, Mother. I know I’m dead.” just brought me to tears. When Yukiatsu started to mess with Menma’s feelings because he couldn’t “see” her like Jintan made my stomach turn in disgust and despair while watching everyone’s reaction. It took 5 episodes to get the childhood friends together again, however, it seems like it will take more episodes to get them comfortable with each other again, especially Yukiatsu.

Hidan no Aria – Keeping me entertained each episode comes Hidan no Aria with it’s action, romantic comedy, and Rie Kugimiya+Junji Majima (the Toradora duo). With an bike and bus jacking in the first two episodes, an intense Butei vs Butei battle in only episode 4, and a crazy airplane landing in the recent episode, Hidan no Aria hasn’t disappointed me yet. Add in Kinji’s crazy childhood friend as well as his “Hysteria” Mode and you have me hook, line, and sinker.

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko – As another Shaft animation, you’d expect Denpa Onna to have crazily simplistic animation. However, they deliver a crazy young-looking, bishoujo (that’s really 40 years old) Touwa Meme and an extremely beautiful Touwa Erio. I’ll admit that I wasn’t interested in it because Erio’s constant alien-like talk… However, episode 5 made me fall in love with her for being so cute even though she still talks the same way so I don’t see myself dropping this anymore.

Deadman Wonderland – With a dark premise and back story, Ganta is forced to be “entertainment” for visitors while being on Death Row. What disgusted me the most is the reaction of the visitors, saying the prisoners’ deaths were “special effects”. At this age in technology, that statement is disturbingly accurate since it’s possible things we see in amusement parks are just “special effects”, especially for ignorant people. However, moving past that, the gore doesn’t bother me at all and seeing Ganta’s predicament makes me wonder what CAN he do except be a puppet? With all that aside, the one thing I’m disappointed is that I don’t feel like Shiro should be voiced by Kana Hanazawa. She may be upbeat, but not upbeat enough for my tastes, especially for a grim dark anime like Deadman. However, that’s just my own opinion.

Ao no Exorcist – While loving the fact that Rin is voiced by Nobuhiko Okamoto, the same seiyuu who did Accelerator in Index and Niizuma Eiji in Bakuman, and Yukio is voiced by Jun Fukuyama, Ao no Exorcist definitely caught my attention with its action and sibling love. The first 3 episodes had me on my toes since the initial introductions just finished, but major battle occurred. Even despite losing a “family member” and having his brother hate him, Rin still kept his resolve to become an exorcist strong, which is keeping me attached to his character as he develops. I just hope the fact that he’s Satan’s son doesn’t EXTREMELY back fire on him, since we can guess that it will have a major effect on all exorcists, like Yukio.

Maria+Holic Alive – The second season of Maria+Holic has yet to disappoint me, though it’s still hard for me to get used to Kanako. Her quick talk about different types of girls loses my attention still, but the comedy keeps me coming back for more. You’d expect to be bored of all of the nosebleeds she has had the first season and now, but I think the anticipation keeps me entertained enough to wait for a new joke about Sachi’s random supplies, Ryuken’s unwavering loyalty to Kanako, and Touichirou’s care for Kanako (as she breaks out in hives) due to Mariya’s trick. Overall, I have a better grasp of it this season than the first, but I with the OP and ED were just as catchy…

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai II – This second season definitely has me for good. I loved the first season of The World God Only Knows even though the last episode was merely a filler. The first two arcs of this season haven’t disappointed me and just as it seems like Keima will die because of an “impossible” girl to conquer, Ayumi, a girl he encountered the first season starts to show interest in him. I’m hoping I get to see more of the first season characters as time goes on, especially Shiori. I’m also looking forward to Chihiro’s arc because I’ve heard good views from my manga reading friends.

Seikon no Qwaser II – To end the review will be Seikon no Qwaser II… Don’t give me that look. Despite all of the perverted boob touching and sucking, the first season had great action scenes that I’m looking for in this season. Though, it seems in the first few episodes of the second season, the Maria’s of Sasha and Katja were switched, assuming that Mafuyu was Sasha’s Maria near the end of the first season. However, looking at the OP and ED, it also seems like Katja will have a new “toy” other than Hana. Overall, the action part of the second season is off to a slow start, but I’m hoping it’ll pick up as the Magdala of Thunder is used by the Adepts more like when Mafuyu was used.

Leave a Reply

