Fall Season 2011 – First Impressions

Once again, I let my macro slip. Reason: Classes, of course. This entire week, I’ve been on Fall break so I’ve had the time to catch up on all of the anime I’ve been behind on as well as take a peek on the episodes currently out from the Fall Season 2011 set. For once, I’ll be on time for a legitimate First Impressions post so let’s get this started. (Note: More information on how the blog will run during the school year at the end of the post)

C Cube – Semi-high hopes – At first, I wasn’t all that into it. The previews did catch my eye, but watching the first episode didn’t exactly pull me into wanting to watch it more. However, the idea about Fear being the personified amalgamation of all the torture weapons used in the Inquisition as well as Konoha being the personified version of the Masamune seems interesting enough to keep me watching.

Maji de Watashi ni Koi Shinasai – Semi-high hopes – To me, the first two episodes of Majikoi was like mixing Dog Days with Infinite Stratos… You get crazy amounts of action with weapons that can’t actually kill anyone in the first episode. Then, you get nearly every girl in the vicinity fawning over the guy in the next. Either way it goes, I’m going to be entertained for quite awhile.

Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon – Low hopes – The fighting system on some characters is interesting, but it’s not enough for me to feel like I’m compelled to watch it. I know that a second season was already announced so this first season will have information left out, but I think Toori is too much of a scrub for me to take a liking in him as of now. I’ll give it a few more episodes, but I’m not seeing much hope from this unless it ties its twist on history well enough for me to like it.

Kimi to Boku – High hopes – Slice of life for the season and I saw some good potential from the character personalities in the first two episodes. Shun also reminds me of a friend of mine (including the long hair) so that’ll be interesting to me in its own right.

Chihayafuru – High hopes – I’m always to open to something new and karuta is definitely new to me. Although the first two episodes were just introductory flashback episodes, they nicely explained how karuta worked and how close the relationship between the characters once was. I have high hopes seeing how this one levels out in both game play and relationships.

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle – High hopes – As a fellow sudoku lover, I’m definitely lured in by the complex puzzle solving Phi Brain has to offer. But, you can’t forget the little bits of comedy added in as well as suspense from life-death situations so this one is a definitely keeper. However, I wish I was given more time to see some puzzles long enough for myself to get them, but I guess that’s what the pause button is there for on streams.

Persona 4: The Animation – Semi-high hopes – Sadly, I haven’t played any of the persona games, so I’m not looking forward to it as much as the actual fans of the game. However, the mystery aspect shown in the first episode definitely peeked my interest for a few more episodes. Thankfully, it’s a 25-episode series so I can slowly ease my way into liking it more.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – High hopes – “We have no friends… Therefore, make a club to make friends!” First thought, wait what the hell? Episode 0 was all about them already “being” friends then horror ensued when the truth was brought into light… Then, again that was Episode 0. Either way, the idea of making a club just to make friends was bland, but the way they made the club was funny and clever. I’m looking forward to this one mainly for the comedy of the “hatred” between Yozora and Sena. Then again, I haven’t met the other character legitimately yet so I have to hope for their screen time comedy to be just as good.

Mirai Nikki – High hopes – Take Eden of the East, add a stalker, and add more suspense and sinister feel and you have Mirai Nikki. The idea of making use of how their cellphone diaries worked as a power is just flat out awesome, but Yuno creeps the hell out of me. All well in something this crazy though.

Shinryaku!? Ika Musume – High hopes – O hai again, Ika-chan! Coming again for a second season? I’m totally okay with this being that I loved you in the first season. Pure comedy… okay, with some slice of life in certain episodes… but overall, just pure comedy. And I’m totally loving that.

Bakuman 2nd Series – High hopes – I enjoyed the first season a lot; more than I thought I would actually. Mainly because it’s still showing that following your dreams is more work than you’d hope it’d be. But, you need to have ALL of the determination to push through all of the obstacles. Though, it was also nice to see how much Mashiro still cared about Azuki despite them not seeing each other through all of the drama in episode 2.

Fate/Zero – High hopes – Yes. Yes. And more yes. As a Fate Stay Night fan, I’m more than just okay with a prequel to the series. I’m totally loving it. The first episode, although nearly an hour long instead of a typical half hour, explained everything I needed to know introduction-wise and made me realize how much of Fate Stay Night I actually remember. Just… yes.

Shakugan no Shana III (Final) – Semi-high hopes – Despite what it says, I’m definitely going to watch through all of Shana Final. As much as I’m a fan of the first two seasons, the OVAs, and nearly anything else Shana related, I can’t believe in the word “Final” until someone important actually dies. The past two seasons passed with the enemies always escaping without any real damage to their force with Shana and Yuuji with a stronger bond. But, like seriously, as much as I love Shana, there is no “final” until someone dies.

I am also planning to watch Last Exile Ginyoku no Fam, UN-GO, and Guilty Crown, but I can’t write a first impression on ones I haven’t seen yet. As for announcements: Since I had the first half of the semester to get used to how classes will go down for me, posts will happen once every 2 weeks; at most, once every 3. Although I don’t really post things that are up-to-date, writing reviews takes up a decent amount of my time and I know I’m REALLY behind on my review posts. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get some time to start writing some of the reviews during the rest of this break, but from what I can pull off from this work load, expect something every 2 weeks. Sometime next week, however, I will be posting something related to Madoka Magica Tabletop so look forward to that.

Anyway, that’s it for announcements and impressions. Have a good day, everyone.

One Response to “Fall Season 2011 – First Impressions”

  1. Anonomyous

    Ben-To might be a sleeper hit for this season

Leave a Reply

